Scientific Advisory Board

John Berdahl


Dr. Berdahl is a board-certified ophthalmologist practicing in Sioux Falls, South Dakota. He is widely regarded as one of the leading international cataract surgeons. Dr. Berdahl is one of the very few surgeons in the United States who is also fellowship trained in cornea, glaucoma, and refractive surgery. He has performed more than 25,000 eye surgeries around the globe so far. His published work has primarily focused on the fundamental causes of glaucoma, minimally invasive glaucoma surgery, and astigmatism management, during and after cataract surgery. Dr. Berdahl has been involved in numerous FDA monitored clinical trials on some of the most exciting technologies in ophthalmology. He founded Equinox, which is developing the first non-surgical, non-pharmacologic way to lower eye pressure for glaucoma treatment. He co-invented the MKO melt, which provided sedation during cataract surgery without the use of an IV. Additionally, he created to help thousands of surgeons fix residual astigmatism after cataract surgery. In an effort to improve access to care, he also co-founded ExpertOpinion.MD, which provides opinions online to patients from prominent doctors around the world.

Dr. Berdahl completed his fellowship at Minnesota Eye Consultants. Prior to the fellowship, he completed his residency at Duke University and an internship at the Mayo Clinic in Scottsdale, Arizona. Dr. Berdahl received his medical degree from the Mayo Medical School in Rochester, Minnesota and a Bachelor of Science in physics from Augustana College in Sioux Falls, South Dakota.

Read more


Dr. Donnenfeld is a trustee of the Dartmouth Medical School and a clinical professor of ophthalmology at New York University. He is a national medical director of TLC laser centers and surgical director of the Lions Eye Bank for Long Island. He is also the past president of ASCRS and is in the presidential succession line for the International Intraocular Implant Society. Dr. Donnenfeld is a fellow of the American Academy of Ophthalmology and has received its Honor Award, Senior Honor Award, Life Time Achievement Award, and Secretariat Award. He is also the editor-in-chief of EyeWorld. Dr. Donnenfeld has written over 200 peer reviewed papers on cornea, external disease, cataract and refractive surgery, and 40 book chapters and books. He is on the editorial board of nine journals and has participated in over 60 FDA studies. Previously, He was a primary investigator of both the excimer laser and femtosecond laser for cataract surgery. He served as president of many professional societies including the Nassau Surgical Society, cornea section of ASCRS, the ophthalmology division of the Nassau Academy of Medicine, and the International Ocular Microbiology and Immunology Group. 

Dr. Donnenfeld completed a cornea fellowship at Wills Eye Hospital. He was a resident and chief resident at Manhattan Eye, Ear and Throat Hospital. He received his medical degree from the Dartmouth Medical School and bachelor’s degree from Dartmouth College.

Read more
Richard Lindstrom


Dr. Lindstrom is a board-certified ophthalmologist and internationally recognized leader in ophthalmology. He is the founder and attending surgeon at Minnesota Eye Consultants, adjunct professor emeritus at the University of Minnesota department of ophthalmology, a trustee of the University of Minnesota Foundation, visiting professor at University of California Irvine, Gavin Herbert Eye Institute and global chief medical editor of Ocular Surgery News. He holds over 40 patents for ophthalmology innovations. 

Dr. Lindstrom completed his medical degree and residency at the University of Minnesota Medical School followed by two years of fellowship training in cornea, external disease, cataract surgery, refractive surgery and glaucoma.

Read more
Michael Korenfeld


Dr. Korenfeld is a board-certified ophthalmologist. He currently serves as the president of Comprehensive Eye Care, Ltd and the Vision Research Institute, LLC. He was a founding member of the American College of Ophthalmic Surgery (ACOS), an organization Dr. Korenfeld was voted into, an honor reserved for ophthalmologists who contribute significantly to the advancement of ophthalmology and eye care. Dr. Korenfeld’s contribution to the field is demonstrated by his 27 years of experience performing FDA-approved clinical trials and his ophthalmic surgical inventions, which are used in operating rooms around the world.

Dr. Korenfeld was chief resident of ophthalmology at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, where he received an M.D. and completed his fellowship in glaucoma research. He completed his residency in ophthalmology at the University of Missouri School of Medicine and a transitional internship in medicine at Mercy Hospital St. Louis. Dr. Korenfeld also holds a Bachelor of Science in biology and a minor in music composition from the University of Arizona.

Read more
Sheri Rowen


Dr. Rowen is a board-certified ophthalmologist and the medical director of cataract surgeries in NVISION® Eye Centers. She currently serves on the board of American College of Eye Surgeons (ACES), the Medical Editorial Board of CRST (Cataract and Refractive Surgery Today) and boards of a few innovative ophthalmology companies. Dr. Rowen has served as a clinical instructor at the Wilmer Eye Institute and as a clinical assistant professor of ophthalmology at the University of Maryland. She founded Mercy Medical Center of Ophthalmology in Baltimore in 1996 and served as the medical director of this full-service ophthalmology and aesthetics practice until 2015. She also co-founded and was the president of the CEDARS/ASPENS Ophthalmic Society. Dr. Rowen is considered a key opinion leader in ophthalmology and her scientific articles, papers and interviews continue to impress the field.

Dr. Rowen completed her surgical internship and fellowship at the prestigious John Hopkins Hospital and a two-year vitreoretinal research fellowship at the renowned Wilmer Eye Institute. She earned her medical degree from the University of Maryland School of Medicine.

Read more